Indiana Liquor Laws
In the state of Indiana there are various laws regarding alcohol, the procession, distribution, licensing, permits, etc.
If your event is at a private residence:
- There are no state mandated rules.
- YOU can supply your own alcohol.
- WE can serve hard alcohol, beer and wine.
- No permits or licenses are required.
Most people hire our services to make sure underage children are not being served, drinks are made properly, and guests are not over served.
If your event is at a rented venue, or a facility open to the public - the rules are as follows:
- If you want to serve hard alcohol, you must hire a state licensed caterer whom holds a 3-way license. They are responsible for ordering, supplying, distributing, etc.
- If you would like to serve beer, wine, champagne, wine alternatives, and malt based beverages- you have two choices.
You can hire a caterer who has a 2-way or a 3-way license.
The caterer must order supply, distribute/serve,
and pay taxes on the beverages
You can obtain a temporary beer and wine permit.
Under the permit the rules are as follows:
The permit must be obtained
The state charges $50
If Lucky's obtains the permit for you we charge $50
You must present a blueprint of the venue, with the bar location. The bar must be separated into a 21 and up area
If minors are allowed at the event
YOU MUST HIRE A PERMITTED BARTENDER
Thats, Lucky's Standard Beverage
There must be a separate area with non-alcoholic beverages
Excise doesn’t want a child going to the bar
Once the party starts there can not be any carry in
Meaning no liquor store runs
Only beer, wine, champagne, wine alternatives, and malt based beverages are allowed
Must say it on the package,
and be under 21% alcohol
There is no carry out services
At the end of the event all open bottles must be dumped out, so no one is driving with open container